Sad news today, 40’s screen beauty Jane Russell has died. I love old movies, the glamour, the fashion, the beauty.. I can watch them for hours, and one of my favourites is Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. Usually when you think of Gentlemen Prefer Blondes you think of Marilyn Monroe, don’t get me wrong, Monroe is wonderful and I usually can’t take my eyes off her when she’s on screen. But in that film, it was Jane Russell who captivated me the most. I even prefer her rendition of “Diamonds are a Girls Best Friends”

So I thought I’d share some images and videos with you.. partly because it’s always nice to share gorgeous things, partly because it gives me and excuse to look at more wonderful things.


She didn’t need over the top costumes to stand out


Her rendition of “Diamonds are a..”, complete with Marilyn Monroe impression


Another wonderful video

Also, here are some pictures from a wonderful site called Dr. Macro’s, which has a large collection of high quality movie scans.

I hope you’ve enjoyed these.

RIP Jane Russell

